Postal Ladies with the Scotia League Trophy 2013

Postal Ladies with the Scotia League Trophy 2013

After permission was given by the parent body to form the ladies’ section a special meeting was held in 1965 to elect interim office-bearers – the first A.G.M. being held on the 17th April 1966. The ladies were on the move. The official opening day was graced with the presence of Mrs. Mathieson, president and Mrs. McDonald, secretary of the E.W.B.A. Bowling was restricted to afternoons only and our membership limited to 32, and having to be wives of male members. In 1973 membership was increased to 40 and at a later date 10 more places allocated to ladies not related to a male member.

Since the inception the ladies’ section has been full members of the Scottish, the East of Scotland and the Edinburgh Women’s Bowling Associations and in 1983 became one of the founder members of the Forth Ladies Bowling League. In the clubs Centenary year, 1989, Mrs. M. McLean was the first Postal president of this recently formed league.

In 1979 Mrs. I. McVittie became president of the E.W.B.A. and in 1988 was elected president of the E of S.W.B.A. Both these associations held their finals days at the club and together with the Canadian Bowling Tourists in 1979 enjoyed the best of Postal hospitality.

In 1980-81 fund raising events were held to assist the club carry out developments to the green. Since then Charities Day proceeds have been donated to handicapped children and successful social evenings have been organised including cabarets and concerts which, together with the reputation for our high standards of catering and hospitality, signifies our ambition to have a successful ladies’ section the Postal can be proud of.